Friday, December 07, 2007

Korchnoi don't know the rule of castling!


Victor Korchnoi (photo right), currently the oldest active grandmaster on the world tournament circuit and has played and lost three World Championship matches against Karpov in 1974, 1978 and 1981.
One interesting incident happen during his 21st game against World Champion Anatoly Karpov in the 1974 World Championship Final.


GM Vicktor Kortschnoj (2670) - GM Anatoly Karpov (2700) [E17] (FIDE) Candidates Match {final} Moscow, U.S.S.R. / (R21) / 16,09,1974.

Positon after move 17.


On this position of the 21st game 1974 Candidate Final in Moscow, Victor Korchnoi who have a winning position against World Champion Anatoly Karpov had to consult the arbiter to make sure castling was legal. Korchnoi was confuse because the Rook was attacked by the Bishop. Sometimes even GMs do not have a full understanding of all the rules for castling.

18.0-0!

And Korchnoi went on to win this game.

No comments:

There was an error in this gadget