Sunday, January 16, 2011

Passion and Glory Win 2010 INSOFAR Team Event!

Abdullah Che Hassan (right)  from Passion and Glory team received the Champion cash prize - RM 2000 from organizer - Mat Zaki Yeop (left) from INSOFAR.
16th January 2011 - Passion and Glory  beat Nusa Mahkota Chess Club 3-1 in the final round today  to win the  2010 INSOFAR Annual Team tournament. The final round ( round 6) is held at the Dato Arthur Tan Chess Center, Wilayah Kompleks, Kuala Lumpur.

Passion and Glory (left) vs Nusa Mahkota Chess Club

Passion and Glory in a must win situation against  Nusa Mahkota Chess Club choose to field their new top guns - FM Nicholas Chan and Ian Udani in the final round against Nusa's. The strategy prove successful although Nusa Mahkota did give a tough fight before losing 3-1. Nusa finish the tournament in second place.

Shamshol Bahrin (right) from Nusa Mahkota Chess Club received the second place cash prize - RM 1000 from International Arbiter (IA) Abdul Hamid Majid (centre).
Firdaus  from Passed Pawn received the 3rd place cash prizes - RM 600 from  yours truly.
In another match, Passed Pawn  apply the same strategy by fielding their new player - IM Mok Tze Meng. This help the team to beat 17 Chess Club 3-1 to finish in third place.

Tournament Background

This team tournament is limited to four teams  - 17 Chess Club (defending champion), Passion and Glory, Nusa Mahkota Chess Club and Passed Pawn.

The  tournament use  25 minutes rapid time control and  is held every alternate Friday starting from 15th October 2010.  Only the final round is held on Sunday (16th January 2011). 

The main attraction for this tournament is the attractive prizes money. Thanks to sponsors - HBM Group of Companies (Shah Alam), Az-Zahrah Private Hospital (Bandar Baru Bangi), Ibsul Holding Sdn Bhd (Shah Alam), the 1st prize is RM 2,000 followed by RM 1,000 for 2nd and RM 600 for the 3rd placing!

Kudos to the organiser Mr.Mat Zaki Yeop from INSOFAR for organizing this tournament.

This tournament apply a unique rules.The team line-up can be change in any round and the players need not be line up according to strength (rating). However the line up must be submitted to the organizer at least 30 minutes before each round.

Round 6 Result (16.1.2011)

Passion and Glory  vs Nusa Mahkota Chess Club :3-1

Board 1:  Ahmad Fadzil Nayan  vs Shamshol Bahrin Patahol Rahman  : 1-0

Board 2:  FM Nicholas Chan  vs Abdul Aziz Shukor : 1-0

Board 3:  Ian Udani vs NM Kamal Ariffin : 1-0

Board 4:  Abdullah Che Hassan vs  Rizal Ahmad Kamal : 0-1

17 Chess Club vs Passed Pawn : 1-3

Board 1 :  Lim Zhou Ren  vs IM Mok Tze Meng  : 0-1

Board 2 :   Muhammad Syakir Shazmeer Azhar vs Mohd Saprin Sabri : 0-1

Board 3:  Mohd Nabil Azman Hisham vs Ismail Ahmad : 0-1

Board 4: Kamaluddin Yusof  vs Firdaus : 1-0

Final Round Standing (game points)

1. Passion and Glory - 14 points - CHAMPION

2.  Nusa Mahkota Chess Club - 12 points

3. Passed Pawn - 11.5 points

4.  17 Chess Club - 10.5 points

Previous report 

Round 1
Round 2
Round 3
Round 4
Round 5

Round 6 Photos (will follow later.....)

No comments:

There was an error in this gadget