Sunday, December 28, 2008

You can "break" the rules if...you are the... World Champion !

I just going trough one of Kasparov's masterpiece in Linares 1994 from the book Fighting Chess 1993-1998 by Tibor Karolyi and Nick Aplin. The 9th round game against a super GM - Gata Kamsky must have been analyzed troughly by other chess books , magazines or in the Internet but i loved to share an interesting theme that can be learn from this game which is how the world champion ( ex champion actually - Kasparov retired in 2005) can "break" a numbers of opening rules and still winning ! In fact, the so-called moves that was not "approved" by general opening rules was consider brilliancies ! Lets have a look.

Garry Kasparov (2805) - Gata Kamsky (2695) [B17]
Linares 12th Linares (Round 9), 1994

1.e4 c6 Kamsky choose the Caro Kann Opening 2.d4 d5 3.Nd2 dxe4 4.Nxe4 Nd7 5.Ng5

According to the books, this move was introduced by a Ukraine Women Grand Master Lidia Semenova in 1983 - who said women doesn't contribute in opening theory? I bet that at that time, her coach must probably be the first person who didn't want to take any resposible of this move... because as we were generally thought - don't move the same piece twice before developing other piece and before you castle ! 5...Ngf6 If black think the move is just a bluff..he is teriblly wrong because after 5...h6? White have the unexpected 6.Ne6! Qa5+ (6...Qb6 7.Nxf8 Nxf8 Black will lost the bishop pairs early in the opening without any compensation. Furthermore black have to spend many tempo castle kingside or play a risk if he choose to castle queen side.) 7.Bd2 Qb6 8.Bd3 fxe6 (8...Ngf6 9.Nxf8 Nxf8 Black lost the bishop pairs.) 9.Qh5+ Kd8 10.Ba5 Ngf6 11.Bxb6+ axb6 And black simply lost his queen 12.Qe2 6.Bd3 e6 6...h6? Once again this move is still forbidden. 7.Ne6 Qa5+ a) 7...Qb6 8.Nxf8 Nxf8; b) 7...fxe6 8.Bg6# (or if you decided to play an extra move, choose 8.Qh5+ Nxh5 9.Bg6# :)) ; 8.Bd2 Qb6 9.Nxf8 Nxf8 7.N1f3 Bd6 7...h6?! Okay guys , actually i don't have to tell about the history of this move. Many of you should already know about it. Anyway just in case u still don't know, this move was play by Kasparov himself ( as black) in his famous last round game against IBM supercomputer - Deep Blue in 1997. Kasparov lost the final game and eventually the match with the score 2.5-3.5. After the match, IBM cowardly dismantle the computer after Kasparov demand a rematch. 8.Nxe6 Qe7 (8...fxe6 9.Bg6+ Ke7 10.0–0) 9.0–0 fxe6 10.Bg6+ Kd8 11.Bf4 And white have a very strong intiative. Deep Blue eventually won the last game against Kasparov in 19 moves ! 8.Qe2 h6 9.Ne4 9.Nxe6 fxe6 10.Qxe6+ Qe7 11.Bg6+ Kd8 12.Qxe7+ Bxe7 9...Nxe4 10.Qxe4 Qc7 10...Nf6 Is another important line. Of course 10...0–0?? is simply a blunder because 11.Qh7# checkmate 11.Qg4 g5 12.Qh3

The queen has traveled a long journey just to be on h3 ? Did Kasparov forget what his coach teach him when his was a kid that don't move your queen too early in the opening. Kasparov in fact have moved the queen 4 times in the first 12 moves! 12...Rg8 Threatening 13...g4 forking the white's queen and knight. 13.Nd2 More or less force because after 13.Qxh6 Bf8 14.Qh7 (14.Qh5 Nf6 15.Qh3 g4) 14...Nf6 15.Qh3 g4 13...Bf8 A good chess student should have obey his/her coach instruction which is to castle here with 14.0-0 or else he will surely get scold after the game... but who want to scold a world champion for delying castling ?

14.Ne4 Bg7 15.0–0 At last the World Champ castle eventually but... at a cost of giving a free pawn ? 15...Bxd4 16.Be3

16...Be5 16...Bxe3 17.Qxe3 (17.fxe3! Advice for chess coach...don't show this game to your pupil.... White wilingly let black create a "horrible" looking isolated pawn on e3 after 17...f5 18.Rad1! fxe4?? A blunder because black will be mate in 9 move ( maximum) ! 19.Qxe6+ Kd8 20.Qxg8+ Ke7 21.Rf7+ Kd6 22.Be2+ Kc5 23.Rf5+ Qe5 24.Rxe5+ Nxe5 25.Qf8+ Kb6 26.Qd8+ Kc5 27.Qd4#) 17...Qe5 18.Qh3 17.Rad1 Nf6 18.Nxf6+ Bxf6 19.Bh7 Rh8 20.Qxh6 Be7 21.Qg7 Rf8 22.Rd3 Bd7 23.Bxg5 Bxg5 24.Qxg5

A pawn down with a king stuck in the centre and no counterplay ... Kamsky should have resign immedieatly. 24...Qd8 25.Qe5 Qe7 26.Qc7 Bc8 27.Qa5 b6 28.Qe5 Brilliant queen manuevering by Kasparov have lead into a weakening of black queenside. Now black king have no chance at all to castle queenside. 28...Ba6 29.Be4 Rc8 30.c4 Rg8 31.b3 Bb7 32.Rfd1 Ba8 33.c5 bxc5 34.Rd6 c4 35.bxc4 c5 36.Bxa8 Rxa8 37.Qxc5 Rb8 38.g3 Qb7 39.Qd4 Kf8 40.Qf6 1-0 And Kamsky resign. Possible continuation would be 40...Qe7 41.Rd8+ Rxd8 42.Rxd8+ Qxd8 43.Qxd8+



No comments:

There was an error in this gadget